Some people think that all university students should study whatever they like. Others believe that they should only be allowed to study subjects that will be useful in the future, such as those related to science and technology.

Nowadays, people tend to believe that studying science is better for students since it has more benefits for the future. In contrast, others also argue that students should take one particular field that they really like. However, studying at the University level is certainly difficult, because there are many obstacles that students will deal with. Then, this issue should be seen in both categories. Firstly, science has made great impacts for modern civilization and also it has influenced every aspect of our lives. And due to those reasons, the students should consider science as an important subject to focusing on especially at the University, because it allows them to solve problems individually or collectively and also teaches them to evoke their curiosity through scientific research. For instance, the purpose of science is to discover new things, so that they can create new innovations for the benefits of others and also for the development of their country. Conversely, focusing on science also need a strong passion and endurance in order to understand it. So, if the University only offer those two fields without considering the true capability of their students, then they already wasting out the students' talent. Furthermore, it is essential for the University to give them the freedom to choose on what subjects they are really interesting in. In addition, the students who love studying other subjects instead of science are free to learn what they really want, because other fields also have the benefit to enhance their critical thinking and communication skill which are also necessary for their future life. To sum up, I would concede that maintaining the balance between science, technology and other subjects are definitely important at the University, because not every student is meant to be the scientist since they have different talents. Therefore, the University obligates to give the free choices for the students to learn what the subjects that they really want.