Some people think that all university students should study whatever they like. Others believe that they should only be allowed to study subjects that will be useful in the future, such as those related to science and technology.

It has often been argued by many, that students in universities should take whichever course they are interested in while others argue that they should take courses that will be beneficial in the future, especially science and technology-related ones. In this essay, I will be looking at both arguments. Many people argue that allowing students study courses they are interested in helps in nurturing their God-given talents. They often argue that when students are allowed to do this, it fuels their self-directed learning which in turn, develops their particular area of interest to a great extent. For example, when Bill Gates was said to have dropped out of Harvard, he still hung around the campus for an extra semester to take courses that interested him the most especially in mathematics and computer programming. This could be argued to have been a part of what helped him in his journey to become the computer wizard that he is today. Therefore, when students are allowed to take courses that they are interested in, it helps them hone their talents and helps them become the geniuses they are destined to be. On the other hand, some people believe that students should take courses that would be useful in the future so as to ensure the continuity of some professions. Because some professions have been taunted to be notoriously difficult, a lot of students are increasingly shying away from it and this could lead to the extinction of these professions which are important to the human race. For example, studies have shown that the number of neurosurgeons have been declining at a rapid rate over the past two decades. Most people opt for less difficult professions instead and this has led to an increase in the workload for practicing neurosurgeons and a reduction in their productivity. Hence, breeding budding doctors to become neurosurgeons will help preserve the profession and improve neurosurgical care delivery. To conclude, I would argue that students should be given a free will to decide the courses they are interested in studying as this will lead to professionals who are passionate about their jobs. Otherwise, we would continue to see people who see their jobs as nothing but a drudge.