Some people think that all university students should study whatever they like. Others believe that they should only be allowed to study subjects that will be useful in the future, such as those related to science and technology.

It is often argued that university students should study nothing but majors that will be beneficial in the future, such as those related to science and technology. While there is some truth in that claiming, I find myself inclined to believe that unleashing human’s passion lead to more and more developers. On the one hand, there is a chief reason why it could be argued that restricting choices in such a decision may be better. From the materialistic angle, unemployment rates are getting higher and higher in our modern societies, thus studying something closer to the doable area than the theoretical one might lead to the possibility of finding a better job and thus building a prestigious career. Despite the above argument, I would side with those who suppose that releasing constrains in this stage of life might be more and more benefits. Initially, denying the benefits of areas of interests other than science and technology just for the reason that their effects are not obvious is a big illusion. For instance, while there are not routine jobs for those who study philosophy, it is considered to be the mother of all fields of knowledge that a man acquired since the beginning of history on this earth. It is more than enough to consider that the most prestigious degree in all universities, the PhD, stands for a doctorate in philosophy, not in in science due to the fact that philosophy is the umbrella of science. It can be concluded that despite the risk of struggling to find a job, I hold the notion of tackling that risk for the sake of passion.