Some people think that all teenagers should be required to do unpaid work in their free time to help the local community. They believe this would benefit both the individual teenager and society as a whole.

Certain individuals suggest that every youngster should make some contributions to their communities without paying, because this approach has benefits for both young generations and society. However, I believe that it should not be compulsory for teenagers. On the one hand, encouraging youths to do some voluntary works has certain advantages for both themselves and society. Teenagers, especially who are undergraduates, can accumulate some essential experiences from these activities. For instance, students who take medical care as their majors, can learn how to look after patients through practicing some assistant works at a hospital. In addition, the disturbing workforce shortage can somehow be eased with numerous volunteers in some workplaces, including both private sectors and public sectors, which could be seen as a positive influence in society. On the other hand, doing unpaid works is unfair for students, because they also need time and payments. The current stressful study life requires youngsters to complete a lot of schoolwork, such as assignments, essays and the group meeting, which costs a large amount of time and energy for them. Besides, these young people also need some incomes for maintaining their life’s expenses, like accommodations, transport and food, which have been continuously increased nowadays. Students could utilize their spare time to do a part-time job and earn some adequate money to meet those demands, instead of no rewarding jobs. To conclude, even though doing work in the community without payments has positive impacts for both individuals and society, however, I believe that students should not be forced to do these jobs, because they have the busy and expensive study life which requires time and incomes to cope with.