Some people think that advertising aimed at children should be banned because of negative effects.

Some people argued that commercials whose target is children should be banned since it often puts detrimental impacts on their audience. However, I firmly hold the view that there are two sides to every story, thus such bans is not necessarily a good idea. On the negative side, it is undeniable that advertising might but intense drawbacks on children. To begin with, children are susceptible to advertising content and are easily manipulated. As a result, they would pester their parents for the advertised products and behave if their parents refuse to fulfill it, which would weaken the family bond. Furthermore, kids are more likely to adopt a new bad habit of eating unhealthily. A large number of companies whose commercials specifically aimed at children are often brands selling fast food, soft drinks, or products containing high amounts of sugar since they are extremely attractive to children, and excessive consumption of these products could lead to health deficiencies such as obesity, diabetes, and cavities. Despite the above argument, I am of the opinion that putting a ban on advertising aimed at children is not reasonable. Firstly, advertising is considered to be one of the key aspects of a prosperous economy, therefore, such bans would severely affect not only businesses but also employees. For instance, if the corporations are not allow to promote products to their target audience, they could suffer a decrease in revenue and eventually force many people out of employment, including staff, suppliers, and marketers, et cetera. In addition, there are still positive messages in commercials, especially from educational brands. Therefore, instead of a complete ban, there should be stricter censorship on promoted content. To sum up, we can not deny the negative impact that advertising might put on children, it should not be banned completely thanks to several benefits for the target audiences.