Nowadays, the population of some countries includes a relatively large number of young people compared to older people. Do the advantages of this situation outweigh the disadvantages?

It is an undeniable fact that the population of the world has been increasing at a drastic rate. But in certain countries, this population growth has been erratic, which resulted in majority of population being young. Although young people can contribute more towards the economy but if they are not given proper guidance, it can hurt the country’s image instead. Having a major portion of country’s population in their 20s and 30s can help the nation grow economically. Young people are lot more energetic and can get the tasks done in less time as compared to older people. Therefore, the country will be able to produce much more exportable products in short time, thereby bringing increased foreign revenue. For instance, China’s GDP is third highest in the world and 68% of its population is in their 20s. Conversely, if the country doesn’t grow economically, then it can compromise the standard of livings of its citizen. This is a direct indicator that youngsters play a fundamental role in driving any country’s economy. However, one major drawback of having higher percentage of young people is the lack of skilled labor. If more than 50% of the population is young and inexperienced then this will lead to a shortage of training instructors. For instance, if a country starts producing export items which are flimsy and unreliable, then it can damage the country’s image in the global community. Young people may be able to provide short term benefits in the form of quantity of products but if the quality is not up to the mark, then it can deteriorate the economy in the long run. Therefore, any country should have an optimum proportion of young and old generation so they could complement each other. In conclusion, this scenario offers more drawbacks than benefits. Although on surface it may seem like that a country can benefit more by having higher proportion of young people as it won’t have to import skilled labor but there should also be resources to accommodate these young people accordingly, particularly employment.