pros and cons of smartphones

In this day and age, being able to cater humans’ needs, smartphones have become undeniably inseparable from our lives. In spite of the fact that it is beneficial to both our work and life, it also brings about a number of consequences which shall be discussed in this essay. On the one hand, smartphones provide us with a number of benefits. Firstly, it is a useful tool for school and work. Being aware of users’ needs, many corporations and companies have made their products much more adaptable to users by releasing them in apps which can be downloaded and used on smartphones. Furthermore, there have been a handful of applications to help us create a healthy and balanced lifestyle such as apps to calculate our bedtime, calculate the calories we consume, the footsteps we walked today or a tool to journal or record our feelings. Last but not least, it is a convenient tool for us to connect to everyone anywhere at any time. With the assistance of a phone, you can easily call anyone from very far away On the other hand, smartphones can bring potential drawbacks. Firstly, if you do not have good time management skills as well as resistance, you may be in much likelihood to spend hours scrolling social media platforms and lose time to get our work done or any other self-developing activities. Moreover, spending too much time on your phone may enable you to lose connection with the people around you. This may seem confusing but the truth is the phone seems to be able to keep us in contact with those who are extremely far away from us through social networks and keep us away from people who are nearby by engaging us on the phone all the time, texting and phone calling all the time. In conclusion, smartphones can be a useful tool when it comes to work and life management, and might take away our time and connection with other people at the same time. However, the fact that it is helpful or not depends on how the users make use of this tool.