Some people think that advertisements aimed at children should be banned.

It is a common belief that there should be a ban on advertisements targeting children. I completely agree with this view for several reasons. The first argument given to support my opinion is that advertisements for products such as fast food and soft drinks can be responsible for childhood obesity. This due to the fact that companies are likely to show advertisements might ignoring the possible health risks attached with their products. Children who have not acquired enough knowledge and experiences to make judgments on themselves, therefore, are unaware of the detrimental health effects when consuming these products. With such ignorance, they are easily persuaded to eat these unhealthy food, which could make them run the risks of gaining excessive weight. Another reason why I hold this view is that advertising to children could place a financial burden on parents. Because of being taken advantage of innocence, when getting exposure to attractive toy advertisements, children would become interested in whatever products they see on advertisements without taking into consideration the functions and practical value of those products. As a result, they might wheedle their parents into purchasing products advertised at any cost. Favourite cartoon characters advertising campaigns can perfectly exemplifies this situation. To be more specific, they are appealing to children so that they have to pester their parents to buy products which may not be unnecessary at an exorbitant price. In conclusion, I strongly believe that a ban on advertisements aimed at kids should be imposed because it can be disadvantageous to children's health and their family finance.