Some people think that a car is the best way to travel in cities while others believe a bicycle is a better way.

It is believed that oral communication is more effective than written communication. In my opinion, deciding which one is more powerful than the other depends on certain circumstances. When it comes to situations that require body language and facial expressions, spoken words are better than written ones. Dating is an excellent example of this. It is more important to set up a face-to-face conversation with the person we have feelings for than to sit at home and send text messages. Emotion icons, photos or videos can never replace a real smile or the expression of different feelings during a dinner date. Another thing is that meeting and talking directly with each other helps us to have a better understanding of the person we are communicating with. We can easily guess the true feelings of the person we are talking face to face with through his or her facial expressions and gestures, but we cannot do that just by reading some written text. However, I think that in terms of law and business, written communication is much more important than spoken words. In court, for example, our words might count for nothing if we do not have valid evidence, such as written documents, to support our arguments. Speaking of business, it would be much quicker, more time-saving and more convenient for a company to send emails regarding promotions and sales to a group of targeted customers than to meet and talk with every one of them. In conclusion, for the reasons mentioned above, it seems to me that spoken words are more effective in situations when we need to use our gestures and show emotions, while written communication is preferable in law and business.