Some people think students should study the science of food and how to prepare it. Others think that school time should be used in learning important subjects.

People have different views about whether students need to learn food science and preparation or other major courses. In my opinion, there are other disciplines more useful in students' future. On the one hand, the course of food science enables students to understand the scientific knowledge behind eatable ingredients; therefore, they would be able to recognise and select the most nutrient products in terms of the appearance, smell and touch of the goods for themselves or their family. Besides, learning the preparation of healthy diets would help people at an early age with maintaining and boosting their general health. For example, in Japan, middle school students have to demonstrate how they prepare their meals in a day, and then teachers will help these students to identify which food may not as good as they thought, such as deep-fried chips. On the other hand, there are other courses significant to the future of young people. Firstly, acquiring the skills of using different languages, such as English and Japanese, is useful for students in achieving career success. For instance, Chinese people who are equipped with the ability to speak English are able to set up their businesses in America and earn the American currency. Secondly, Mathematics is also an important subject that improves students' logical reasoning. The process of solving Maths' questions requires students to think step by step. This would gradually develop young people's reasoning. In summary, while students' physical health benefits from learning the knowledge of food science and preparation, it seems to me that poeple's future will flourish due to the help of languages and Maths acquirement.