Some people believe that international sporting events are the ideal opportunity to show the world he qualities of the hosting nation. Others believe that these events are mainly a large unjustifiable expense.

Hosting some mega sporting events is a great opportunity for nations to swoop in to showcase their infrastructure and promote the image. However, some individuals have the notion that organizing these sports and games causes a sheer amount of expenditure for a country. I am a partial proponent of this statement, and the reasons for this will be discussed in the essay below. Firstly, organizing worldwide sports and games leads to economic growth for the host country. In other words, millions of people who are fond of sports, visit the host republics and that results in the improvement in the tourism sector. For example, Australia was a host nation for FIFA world cup in 2000 which benefitted the country in regenerating the whole economy, the main reason for it was a large number of tourists visited the nation, spent huge amount of money on accommodation, transportation, and meals. Consequently, it helped in increasing economic growth. In contrast, these international sporting events have adverse effects on the citizens of the host nation. Government invests a sheer amount of funds on infrastructure and in return, it leads to inflation of goods and services and people have to bear the large expenses which make their lives miserable. As a result, it is not always successful for every host nation to organize these international sporting events. In conclusion, the main reason for hosting the mega sporting events for a nation is economic growth and good recognition in the world but sometimes it causes suffering for the people residing in the host country as they have to face the unexpected rise in the price, therefore, every republic should also consider the negative impact of conducting sports.