Most employers do job interviews before offering a position to a person. Do you think this is the best way to do it, or are there better alternatives? What is the best method of choosing employees in your opinion?

Majority of organizations do follow the approach of having at least one round of discussion with the candidate before releasing the offers to them. I believe it is better on the employers part to know the person before appointing them in their company, as it gives a perspective of how fit that candidate would be to take up the new roles and responsibilities in the job. This essay will discuss the same in detail with some relevant examples, and will also suggest some of the better options for hiring the right candidate. These days organizations do prefer to adopt one of the common methodologies for hiring by taking the interview discussions with the candidates, which gives them a platform to judge the person’s capabilities for the proposed role. With these discussions, they tend to assess the candidate in various areas, such as their attitude, passion towards the role and any other domain-specific knowledge. These assessment results give them a better understanding of the person’s strengths and weaknesses, which then plays a key role in making a decision of selecting them for that particular job. Taking the role of a teacher for instance, a candidate could be well versed with the qualifications, but, to play the role of a teacher, he/she needs to be friendly with the children as well as convey their knowledge to the students. So, the school authorities make sure to assess the candidate on his/her way of delivering the speech instead of their qualifications. This skill check helps the employers to reach a suitable decision with respect to the candidate’s profile. Also, any other alternate approach for hiring could not be as efficient as this one, because with this not only the employer gets to understand the candidate, but also, the candidate gets an idea of the expectations that he/she needs to fulfil after taking that job. One of the best processes for hiring would be to assess the person’s capabilities by conducting some rounds of interview discussions with them and then making a decision of whether they fit for the proposed role or not. For instance, an employer would like to conduct a technical discussion with the candidate if the job role is that of a software engineer. With this, he/she will be able to assess the candidate and then make the decision of choosing them. In conclusion, it can be stated that conducting interviews before giving the jobs is one of the most efficient ways for hiring the right talent in the company, as with this the employer gets an assurity that the employee would be a strong fit for that particular role. Additionally, the candidate also gets to understand the expectations from the employer’s perspective.