Some people think students should study the science of food and how to prepare it. Others think that school time should be used in learning important subjects.

There has been much discussion revolving around the issue of whether students should learn food-science and the method of preparation instead of studying major subjects. This essay will explain why students should study the science of food, compared with learning important subject. Personally, I perfer the first view. The merits of food-science education are apparent. Firstly, learning the science of food has become essential in this day and age. This is mainly due to the fact that food is one of the most important key for the development in children, both physically and mentally. Secondly, an in-depth understanding in the field of food-science could promote the quality of living in society. For example, the poverty issues in many developing countries can be solved with knowledge of food-science. As a result, this lead to fewer problems related to food. In contrast, some others may claim that studying major subjects is a key of success for students. Apparently, leaders in many business nowadays came from well-known universities which taught heavily in major subjectes such as computer science, mathematics and engineering. Futhermore, there main subjects has been the structure of many success companies. It can be seen that major subjects education play a key role in this regard. Having considered both views, I think learning the science of food is of overriding importance for major subjects. Also, I would suggest that education should be balanced in the way that it is not overly focus in one way, which I believe is soundly based on the above reasoning I have presented.