Some people think students should study the science of food and how to prepare it. Others think that school time should be used in learning important subjects.

People have different opinions regarding what subjects to be taught in school. Some believe that their children should learn the art of culinary, while others argue that there are other fields of study which sould be given more importance. I completely agree that learning how to cook and the science behind it is equally important for a child. Nowadays, the stereotype that a woman should definitely know how to cook has completely changed. In the advancing society, even men have reached greater heights in culinary subject and are great chefs. This has only been possible with the changing outlook and accepting nature of parents who allow their children to learn how to cook different cuisines, irrespective of the child being a boy or a girl depending on thier interest. Secondly, food is important for survival. Thus everyone should have atleast the basic knowledge about how a simple dish is prepared in case of any emergency. It also makes a person independent. However, in the present era there is a lot of competition among students. Every parent wants their child to learn the recent trends in technology and science in order to grow and become succesful. Hence, learning how to cook becomes the least priority, as there are more important and advance subjects which needs to be studied in order to aquire more knowledge. They require more time. Also, basic knowledge about food can be gained in our own houses or by watching any cookery show online during liesure time. In conclusion, I believe that it is important for schools to teach atleast the basics of cooking to everyone. Advance cookery classes can be provided to those students who are genuinely interested in learning this subject.