Some people think students should study the science of food and how to prepare it. Others think that school time should be used in learning important subjects.

Food has been a central part of our life. Since the birth of mankind, we have relied on food to survive, treat it as enjoyment, or as a platform to communicate with people as we do when we invite friends for meal and chat on the dining table. Some people therefore consider that students should learn more about food and ways to prepare it. However, many others would probably think students should instead learn other important subjects at school. Undeniably food is crucial to us, but considering the modern trend and the purposes of school time, I am inclined to the belief that students have to dedicate themselves to learning other important subjects. It is important to know that we are living in a technologically advanced generation with already different people specializing in different skills and professions. Unlike pre-industrial ages, when people could not travel far away and cook with fast technologies, we now can now take buses or subways to restaurants easier than the previous generations did. Thanks to constant technological innovations particularly after the advent of the twentieth century, the cost of using mass carrying transportations is cheap in general for ordinary citizens. A few minutes ride could already bring you to numerous choices of restaurants. Even if we are away from restaurants, we can even cook by ourselves. Microwaves and automatic cooker enable ones to cook with little knowledge. Adding to this convenience, there are modern inventions like cup noodles which will be ready in minutes after pouring boiling water to the noodles. In other words, countless options are available and accessible for many people even who have insufficient knowledge of cooking. In addition to my argument above, our society now is dramatically specialized compared to the previous ages. Many occupations like bankers, lawyers, and especially IT have been born. These jobs require specific knowledge that could be more sophisticated than cooking. School should be the place therefore for students to attain knowledge and skill bases in order to develop their interests and have a basic understanding of various careers. Provided that the global population is still on the rise, cut-throat competitions across the world will be more inevitable in the future. If one has to succeed and overcome fierce competitions for a job, for instance, an investment banker or an IT programmer, he or she has to brush up particularly math and science subjects during their school time. In consideration of the popularity over these jobs, extra time for studying food will be relatively hard for students who aim for specific job posts or careers as they need plenty of time to study in the respective fields. In the final analysis, schools should be a place for students to discover their interests and study the basics of knowledge, so as to pave their paths to the future they desired. It is certainly unquestionable that food has been an essential part of our life. This importance nevertheless has been able to be complemented without doing it by ourselves but with other assistance, thanks to modern technology. By no means, the school should at once deny the importance of cooking. Some schools in places like Japan still offer cooking lessons for students to let them learn the joy of preparing food, but still the most important aspect of school should be the other subjects.