Some people think spending a lot of money on birthday celebrations and weddings is a waste of money.

Birthday celebrations and weddings are remarkable and unforgettable memories of everyone's life. Youngsters nowadays are spending a hefty sum of money on such celebrations. I believe these celebrations are acceptable unless it becomes a financial burden on them. In this era, where people are under the influence of others, tend to behave like them to gain popularity among others. This is mainly due to the social media platforms like Instagram, Facebook and many more. Youngsters on social media believe that whatever the person has posted is true and in order to do the same, they tend to do the same or better than that to become popular. Moreover, media also plays a vital role in inculcating the importance of celebrations by repeatedly showing them on television and in magazines. Lastly, young people find it pleasing when someone compliments them for an occasion they organized and others enjoyed it. In order to gain popularity and showing off their wealth young people spend a huge amount of money on such recreational and celebratory activities. Looking at the perspective of other groups who argues that such celebrations are just a waste of money and resources, believes that it is not appropriate behaviour to spend a hefty sum to please others and gain popularity. Many a time these celebrations put up great financial stress on the entire family. Due to which they indulge in crime to pay off their debt. Secondly, it is been observed that because of such celebrations invaluable resources like food, electricity are wasted by the people. The same material can be used by poor and needy people who actually needs these. Wasting money on celebrations just to show off is not a good idea. To summarize, it is true that wasting money on such celebrations is not necessary if the person is incapable of spending. However, if he is capable enough and wants others to join his celebration, according to me there is nothing wrong with doing so.