Some people think sending criminals to prison is not an effective way to deal with them. Education and training are better.

The practice that lawbreakers should be condemned to jail is of necessity and the question of how to cope with them have been a major topic of concern in today' s society. Others claim that education and training are at the core of the solution. While both sides have proved their great significance, I would contend that the way offenders should be dealt with depends crucially on their age and the degree of activities leading to criminality. Specific types of crimes should be severely punished to lay the foundations for the safety of social life. Additional prison sentences to offenders, namely drug sellers and illegal weapon transporters must be longer, therefore, it could act as a precursor to satisfy the social requirements both of deterrence and retribution. Take serial killers as an example. These people may be stripped of the opportunity to rehabilitate in the long term. Jeffrey, committed the rape, murder and dismemberment of many Milwaukee people in 1993 was served maximum sentences for his ruthless character and it was no use in educating him. Imposing those who attempt to assassinate other people under the sentence of death is the top priority for their heinous actions. However, I believe that providing in-depth training and education for criminals as well as recidivists who are inexperienced and immature are possible options because such measures may discourage citizens from violating the law. This is primarily because once adolescents have the intention of breaking the law, they would think deeply that it may worth the risk or not. In addition, in light of the prison time, youthful former offenders imprisoned in their twenties could be made redundant in this labor market when they are out. For example, Johnson, an internationally-acclaimed football talent, who had a bright future was jailed at his very young age. Then he was released by his thirties, the prime football career age and became unemployed for a long time due to his lack of morality. In reality, legal workshops and educational programs are not popularized in schools and colleges. These intensive training could not only help the public realize how risky unruly behavior is but also provide a wealth of knowledge to people in need. Therefore, in the long run, it may act as a catalyst for a decrease in the number of lawbreakers. In conclusion, there are possible measures to form a civilized society, I believe that for each type of criminal, appropriate actions should be taken in order to mitigate the associated risks in the future. Chances for killers to have the rehabilitation would be a non-optimal choice, while opportunities should be promoted for the young citizens.