Some people think only best students should be rewarded, others think we should reward students who make progress.

The issue of whether students who outperform their peers or make progress should be rewarded is frequently discussed in recent years. From my perspective, although outstanding students deserve to be rewarded, students who make academic progress should be encouraged and rewarded more. Some educators suppose that only top students worth rewarding. Firstly, it is what they should receive as they work hard to be the best students. It is widely believed that people in the higher level must devote more time and energy to their studies, thus it is reasonable to reward those who put in the greatest effort. Secondly, praising best students can bring a sense of competition to the class. More specifically, when other students see that the top students were prized, they will realize that they need to pay more to catch up. As incentive is limited, in order to achieve the highest grade in the class, everyone will try their best to be one of them. On the other hand, it is more motivated to reward students who make obvious progress. Everyone’s talents and basics are different, so some individuals may work extremely hard but still struggle in school. If we only pay attention to those high-level students, slow learners’ enthusiasm towards study may be diminished. Moreover, making significant progress in learning demonstrates that students have untapped potential in learning. After receiving the reward of outstanding development, they will become more confident and engaged in their future studies. In conclusion, no matter students are the most excellent in class or not, there must be some areas where they can improve and perform better. So that my view is that it is more essential to reward students who make growth than those who are the best. Schools should establish a rewarding system that work for all students to optimize their learning potential.