Some people think learning history in school is important. Some others think learning subjects more relevant to life is important.

There is no doubt that what subject we should learn in school is crucial. While some people believe that it is necessary for students to have curriculums related to real life, my view is that the significance of history should not be neglected. On the one hand, lessons that contain more realistic content will provide students ability to develop better career in the future. This is because subjects like accountance, biology and computer science can directly provide job skills which can be applied to what these students need to do in the work place. For example, a student who may find it engaging to learn biology will be motivated to learn this subject by themselves and become a doctor in the futher. If students don't learn any practical skills at school, they may find it hard to fit into work environment quickly. On the other hand, I would argue that learning history is essential to develop and form students' understanding of the world. The reason for this is that by learning what we have done in the past what consequences these events caused, the youngesters can have a better view on what they should do to create a better future. For example, there were several times in China when the ancient emperors burnt all kinds of books and killed anyone who spoke against him, the ruin of culture and freedom speech directly led to the end of the dynasty. If teenagers know nothing about the history of their own country, they may not cherish what they have now and vote for the wrong person to be the leader of the country. In conclusion, despite the practical meaning of studying job-oriented curriculums, I believe history should have its place among the core subjects in school.