Some people think it is of little use to study history; others think learning history helps us prepare for our modern life.

In this day and age, learning the history remains a controversial debate with strong arguments against and for. Some people insit that studying history could be pointless while others have a school of thought that learning history can help humans have a preparation for the modern era. Both views will be elucidated in the following paragraphs. On the one hand, in common parlance, history is depicted as the record of past events, so a host of people claim that these events could be incompatible with the modern life. To illustrate, most students in some academic institutions opt to learn science, technology or language in lieu of history because it brings no relevant values to the present or future. Furthermore, it is widely documented that few past events can reflect different standpoints and facts. Therefore, there is no guarantee of the currency of information obtained. On the other hand, a deluge of proponents concur with studying history by virtue of its essence being applicable in the modern life as well as the near future. To begin with, it is widely believed that learning historical events might be a terrific way for human beings to comprehend experiences of the ancestor and have a great deal of respect to historical figures who deprive themselves of death so that humans have the peace and independence. Needless to say, acquiring profound understanding about history can also help us take it into practice, especially in the field of tourism. To most tour guides in recent days, comprehending thoroughly about past events of a single country could diffuse traditional values and a proud history of a single nation to foreign tourists. In sum, although in relatively recent times, history could be marginalized in some academic institutions by virtue of its little relevance and false source of information, I strongly hold a belief that learning history can be of the paramount importance because it reflects the tradition, pride as well as the gratitute towards ancestor, and, therefore, scholastic institutions should encourage students to comprehend past events and put their knowledge gained into practice.