Nowadays, some languages are increasing in use, while many others are declining. Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

In this day and age, there is a trend that a number of languages are becoming the predominance in use while other languages are marginalized in the society as a whole. I believe that this trend remains both benefits and detriments to the community. The underlying reasons why some languages can be more prevalent than the others vary. To illustrate, English, Chinese or Japanese, all of which can be given the top priority amid other languages in the world owing to the fact that these langugages invariably filter in economic and technological proliferation or travel in line with communication, especially in developed countries. Needless to say, by virute of its prevalence, the predominant languages could be seen as the backbone of diplomatic relations or trade. It might help promote the interconnectivity and bridge the language barriers among foreign countries. Subsequently, whenever travelling into foreign countries, humans can have the inter-cultural exchange and the development of life-long friendship. Despite the fact that some languages are witnessing an upward trend, it is claimed that the minority languages could not be disparaged. It cannot be refuted that these languages might be the transference of cultural heritages and distinct values in a single country. The disapearence of minor languages means that can entail the demise of its country or Peoples. For instance, when visting to Viet Nam, foreign tourists not only have a thirst for ideal destination but they have the sense of curiosity about Vietnam’s cultures, customs, traditions, especially Vietnamese language. It can be seen as a modality to facilitate hospitality industry and preserve the rich cultural diversity. In conclusion, although some languages such as English, Chinese can be seen as the predominance in the trade, economy and other facets of the society, I firmly support that the minority languages should not be preserved by several measures prior to the verge of extinction because it can interpret the cultural heritages as well as distinct values of a single country and peoples as a whole.