Some people think it is more important to plant more trees in open areas in towns and cities, than providing more housing.

City planners are always looking for ways to improve cities and towns. Many believe that planting trees in empty lots is far more important than building houses in populated areas. I completely agree with this statement and this essay will examine the positive outcomes of planting more trees in cities rather than providing more housing. First of all, trees are essential for human lives. They release oxygen which is vital for our breathing, while eliminating carbon-dioxide. Secondly, major cities are already suffering from overpopulation and they are infested with hazardous gasses such as carbon-oxides and nitrogen-oxides which is causing air pollution. Trees also have the ability to filter some of these mentioned gasses. For instance, New York is one of the most popular metropolitan cities, and because of its population, the air quality is extremely low. These low levels are dangerous for individuals who have problems with their immune system and babies. Thus, planting trees in available areas within cities instead of constructing more housing, may help the air quality to fall back to safer levels and reduce air pollution. Additionally, trees have various other functions than producing oxygen. They reduce wind force, create shade areas, increase the amount of rainfall and function as home for numerous animals and insects. Although building houses can be beneficial for developers and people who want to move into cities or towns, in order to create a better society and not further damage the nature, planting trees, expanding parks and forests has plethora of positive outcomes for the people and the nature. Moreover, planting trees in cities helps the city grow socially as well. For example, they provide an area where people can meet, socialise and exercise. In conclusion, it is obvious that humans need houses in cities to live in, but to strengthen and improve the quality of the life in overcrowded cities we need to plant more trees. They have a crutial role in combating air pollution and they provide numerous social benefits.