some people think it is important to keep and mantain old buildings rather than replacing them eith modern buildings. to what extent do you agree or disagree?

With the fast process of modernization of cities, the problem concerning the importance of safeguard ancient buildings instead of have them substituted by new ones, is more than ever a matter of concern. Attributing more space to modern buildings can have various advantages, however, I strongly believe that old buildings are even more fundamental for a country and therefore they should be preserved. Those who argue that modern buildings should proliferate all over the cities stress the importance of creating a modern image of the country in order to being able to be as competitive as other developed countries in the process of global development. For instance, a city like Shanghai decided to build many skyscrapers because they wanted to show to the world that China’s economy had improved and it could not be considered anymore as a underdeveloped country like in the past. In addition, it’s undeniable that most of the new buildings is constructed with a particular attention to eco-sustainability due to the recent discovers in ecology field. Therefore new buildings will have an appealing benefit for environment. Even if the above arguments are reasonable, more convincing ones can be found in favor of old buildings’ preservation. First of all, they represent the culture, traditions and history of a country. Protect them means pass on a valueless patrimony to future generations. Moreover, economical reasons can be added to the list of the advantages. As a matter of fact ancient buildings have a marked attractiveness for tourists around the world that would be willing to visiting a country to see them, and subsequently generate an high intake for the local economy. In conclusion, although replacing old buildings can be beneficial for cities to build up their global image and to respect environment, governments should take steps to avoid the disappearance of old building because they are the most valuable heritage of a country and a monetary resource that should not be underestimated.