some people believe that children at secondary school should be streamed, i.e. taught in classes according to ability, rather than being taught in mixed-ability classes. do yu think the advantages of streaming children at secondary school outweigh the disadvantages?

Growing, children develop learning abilities at a different pace, therefore some believes that class should be divided in quicker and slower learner, as it would be beneficial for both groups, while others consider streaming children as disadvantageous. Although there are arguments on both sides, I strongly consider streaming as a wrong practice. The first argument mentioned by who support the streaming practice, is that only in this way children full potential can be tapped. When children receive the right amount of information at a suitable speed for them, they will be able to improve faster. On the other hand, if forced to slow down or speed up in order to follow the rhythm of the class, they might get lost or lose the chance to exploit their full abilities. Secondly, a differentiation of children by abilities would help to reduce discriminations, as children with more difficulties would not feel less able than their peers because their classmates would also be at their same level. However, the previous reasons don’t stand up to the scrutiny. As a matter of fact this practice can cause high level of anxiety in children who would be scared to be declassified and would stress over keeping high standards. At the same time, the self-esteem of slower learners would drop drastically as they would feel inadequate and not as good as others, convincing themselves they will never be able to change their status, growing, therefore, as insecure young-adult. Least but not last, society is not designed in this way, children must be able to interact and socialize with every kind of person, or they will become misfit adults. In conclusion, even if there might be some reasons to approve children streaming, I strongly believe the disadvantages that can occur with this practice are more serious and dramatic of the possible advantages, therefore school should avoid it and allow children with various abilities study in a same class.