some people think it is important to construct new buildings rather than wasting money on maintaining old ones

Nowadays, cities develop in really rapid pace. Due to that, a lot of new buildings are being constructed and old ones are in process of update. Obviously, it demands a significant part of the country's budget. So, some of the general public are convinced that there are not any reason to maintain badly-looking houses. Personally, it has a sense, because creating new, appealing skyscrapers will accrue a number of arrived tourists, which, for certain, will contribute a large part of money to the local economy. New technologies and materials as well, provided to construct new ones are surely going to effect positively on power and development of the certain settlement. For example, with using glass and wood instead of concrete, environment situation will be improved as those materials are completely recyclable. However, I hold a view that governing elite does not really need to spend money on ruined constructions. First and foremost, they could not be changed significantly. Repainting and updating the windows will not solve the problem. They do not fit into the main architecture style of the city and disrupt the atmosphere, which is a crucial factor for the travellers. To conclude, I concerned that strategy of creating new construction has to be preferred for the government in order to make the country more powerful and thriving.