Some people think it is important to construct new buildings rather than wasting money maintaining the old ones.

Amid the fast-changing society, living conditions have ameliorated which leads to higher demand of improving city’s infrastructure facilities. There are some people believe that money should be utilized on new constructions rather than allotted to the old ones. From my perspective, I strongly oppose to the mentioned statement. To foster my argument, two main reasons will be provided in the following paragraphs: history’s values and expenses, its potential consequences. Old constructions contain certain historical, cultural values. First, history is pivotal to every citizen as people should have understanding about the past in order to appreciate today and build a better tomorrow. Hence, aged buildings could bridge the present and the past and could not be a surrogate, thus maintaining and reserving ancient construction is of the utmost importance. Moreover, hitherto, many sites reserved throughout the course of history are likely to become a place where knowledge-seekers, visitors visit to content their queries. For instance, many monuments, temples, pagodas such as Van Mieu, Chua Mot Cot are now one of the most well-known attractions to the tourists. On the other hand, investing into new buildings would cost a prodigious sum of money, much more than reserving historical sites, in addition, the process could do harm to the environment. Initially, the expenses of constructing including designing, materials, … are extortionate subsequently, it is plausible that investor should give priority to preservation. The prohibitive procedure is the matter of concern, but the horrendous repercussions should also be taken into consideration. Machines used for building would release great amount of harmful, toxic emission into the air which possibly poison the living creature. Needless to say, it is credible to point out that this is one of the factors causing pollution to the Earth. In conclusion, by virtue of ancient sites’ value, it must be considered that, maintaining them is as prominent as constructing modern buildings. Although rapid economic development increasing the ubiquity of modern constructions, the upkeep should not be relegated. New buildings serve vital functions in a 21st century metropolis and are not merely for show, meanwhile, old ones are indispensable cultural relics that are important for a nation’s cultural identity.