It was common in the past for people to retire at 60. Now more and more people are choosing to continue working past the official retirement age, with some countries even increasing the official age of retirement. with this change? Why?

I will start my presentation, Many people argue that, the right age for the retirement is 60 years, while others has the opinion that the profession of an individual should be the criteria to choose the retirement age. In my opinion, for those who works in the industries which demanding a high level of physical and mental work should be given early retirement, and those who work in a less physical challenge sector like I. T. Professionals, Clerical department, managerial levels could increase the age of retirement. In this presentation, I will provide both arguments and examples to support my view. Firstly, the idea of standard retirement age for all professionals is certainly faulty. This is because different jobs require different skills. For example, the countries like India people working in a police department, construction sector, the army are demanding to have high physical fitness, but since fitness levels decrease with age, they should be given early retirement. Secondly, In the world the health sector has been improved immensely so that the life expectancy of the people has been increased drastically. For instance, in 20th century life expectancy of people was only 45 years in the world, which is now increased to 75 years. Due to this some countries have increased their retirement age law. So now people can work more compared to a previous century. For example, most of the South Asian countries have increased the age of retirement law. In conclusion, retirement age should select on the basis of work, means the group who have more physical work should retire earlier and vice versa. In my opinion, government should consider the nature of the job before deciding the retirement age of any sector.