In today's world, people are purchasing more than what they need. Is this a positive or a negative trend? Give your opinion with reasons and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Due to drastic change in the economy the purchasing power of people has increased, leading to over purchase and buying of unnecessary items. I suggest that we should spend the cash as per our income and save funds if any adversity arises. To begin with, we will consider the positive effects. As per the census-2018, the per capita income of urban areas is increased by 25%, which means people are earning enough for a living. The positive effect is that, it gives them access to luxury and higher standard of living. For instance, they can purchase luxury items, invest in real estate and buy expensive automobiles which was an urban dream earlier. However, tendency to purchase more comes with a great deal of negative effects. People spend more than their earning that leaves them with enormous debts and no savings. Another noteworthy reason to be mentioned is that, children are becoming spoiled brats with the luxury been provided to them. Parents provide provide their children with all the unnecessary items which ever they ask for. For example, they spend money on all the latest gadgets and gaming equipments which are not a necessity. Parents may take credit card debts to provide these equipments to their children for their happiness. This may lead to no savings for their future. In conclusion, Increase in purchasing power is a negative development. But, we can overcome the negative aspect of buying unnecessary item if people spend money wisely by planning their expenses and income. Also, saving money for a rainy day will reduce their spending pattern.