Some people think certain prisoners should be made to do unpaid community work instead of being put behind bars. To what extent do you agree?

It is believed by many that unpaid voluntary work for the community is a better punishment for some prisoners than imprisonment. I completely agree with this opinion, however, and will explain how this type of punishment can improve an offender’s life and society as a whole. Some people are of the opinion that every offenders should get imprisonment for strict rehabilitation process. Harsh experience is needed for those who have committed a crime whether it is big or small. Otherwise, the offenders will repeat this crime as they would be sure about the consequences which would not affect them much. As a result, many people in the society get involved with petty crime as a repercussion of a seemingly mild punishment. Thus, offenders may need to be put behind bars regardless of their level of crime as an example to other people in the society. However, voluntary work in the local neighbourhood as a punishment will be better rehabilitation for some offenders. Firstly, different punishment should be assigned to different offenders based on their respective crimes and age. For example, if a teenager gets imprisonment for his offence, there is a higher chance of him getting into a bigger trouble as he will be in touch with more serious prisoners than him. As a result, he can be misled and eventually become a serious offender. What is more, voluntary community work will give the offenders a new perspective towards life as he will be given chance to help others. Therefore, it is entirely justified that community work should be given as a punishment instead of setting him up for a sour future as imprisonment would be a deterrent to his recuperation. In conclusion, rehabilitation process is of paramount importance in terms of giving punishment to offenders. While some people are in favours of imprisonment as a punishment for all offenders, I believe it is absolutely imperative that their punishment is justified with their level of crime and age.