Some people think certain prisoners should be made to do unpaid community work instead of being put behind bars.

It is thought by some people that certain convicts ought to be involved in community service instead of serving a prison sentence. In my opinion, I totally agree that certain culprits should be given a non-custodial sentence such as community service as an alternative to prison because community service is a valuable experience and it has less detrimental influence than the prison. An individual who committed a minor crime should be given community work instead of prison sentence as it is a better way to reflect on their transgressions. Law institutions should treat them differently to major offenders considering that the objective should be to maintain peace in the society, and not to punish people. Community work such as cleaning streets, planting trees, and working for charity is an effective method to reinforce values in a minor offender because criminals would see what hard work is required to mitigate consequences of their actions. The lack of this useful technique means the minor offender would be associate it with hard-core criminals. A recent study made by the University of British Columbia in January 2019 and recently broadcasted by BBC news found that well above 70% of minor offenders who did not do unpaid community activities were more likely to display positive opinions about criminal justice, which is a crucial highlight for potential reoffenders. It can be a positive sanction that evokes responsibility from the offender for his/her actions; it can reduce the burden on the system of incarceration. Another reason why imprisonment will be inefficient compared to community work is that dangerous criminals in prison are likely to have a negative influence on those who are incarcerated for minor offences. Petty criminals are often exposed to a hostile environment and can learn how to commit a first-degree felony from their inmates. To illustrate this, owing to the fact that in Russia shoplifters are often locked up in the same cells as murderers, rapists and violent criminals, they tend to easily acquire necessary skills not only to steal but also to kill to obtain what they desire. As a result, there is a high percentage of petty prisoners re-offend once they are released back into the community. However, involvement in community service programmes can be a genuine alternative for them. In conclusion, it is certainly true that unpaid community work could be considered in rehabilitating minor criminals as it would provide an opportunity for the offenders to see first-hand the indirect injuries caused by their offence and minimize detrimental effect of prison life on them.