Some people think cellphone and computers for communication have negative effect on young people’s reading and writing skill. Do the advantage outweigh the disadvantage?

In modern society, making a phone call or sending an email is common to contact with others. Numerous individuals argued that social intercourse in digital ways may impact on young persons’ reading and writing skills negatively. While it is convenience to read and write via the internet, I personally think it will decrease the reading and writing proficiency of the young due to a lack of attention. The younger generation can contact with others whenever online at a low cost, which makes them trend to read and write constantly. It is generally seen that youngsters these days have installed applications such as Facebook in their cellphones and laptops to show their lives and make comments, any time anywhere. For example, those social media made it easy to watch the fashion week in Paris and it's even possible to virtually participate by giving feedbacks. However, reading and writing skills may not be improved by this way. Regardless, swiping up and down or clicking aimlessly on the screen lead to distraction. As the messages from the internet are always eyes-grasping and high-frequency, youths usually get confused when they are surrounded by these waves of information, which can deprive them of concentrations. Take Twitter for instance, almost everyone on that platform is busy in the race to click on from one hotpot to another, leaving behind their capabilities to focus on one deep event. By contrast, the young need to keep themselves concentred if they really want to master their reading and writing skills rather than browse news and write comments roughly. Hence, social contact via the internet is not a good idea for these youngsters who are lack of self-disciplined. In conclusion, even thought cellphone and computers facilitate communication, I believe that these devices can adversely affect teenagers' skills of reading and writing due to distraction from the internet.