Some people suggest the schools select pupils according to their academic ability, while others believe that it is better for young people with different abilities to study together.

People' s opinions differ as to whether or not should students be selected according to their academic performances. While distinguishing students does have lots of benefits, I believe different students learning together is a wiser choice. On the one hand, I can understand why people support streaming. In doing so, pupils with higher scores are expected to learn more, and therefore they can achieve higher goals. For example, in China there are a similar enrolment exam in some high schools, and students studying there are more likely to receive better education in the future. A recent report reveals that the world' s top universities' enrolment rate in these schools are noticeably higher than that in ability-mixed schools. One possible benefit would be that there will appear more elite university graduates and society will have more intelligent and creative workforce. On the other hand, there are a variety reasons why I agree with those who advocate ability-mixed schooling. Firstly, discriminations between different student groups can be avoided as they know they are taught in the same school and there is nothing special to be good at academic or physical or artistic performances. Secondly, studying together enables learners to seek help from each other in terms of physical activities, art projects and communication skills, and it might become feasible to promote an all-round development of a student. Many high schools in the UK, for example, teach students with different abilities, and many graduates have entered great universities or colleges where they can achieve their potential. Finally, an academic ability is not the only standard for evaluating students. If we recruit students based on his or her test scores, there will be an implication that practical or artistic abilities are less important than academic abilities. In conclusion, it seems to me that streaming is indeed beneficial for students with better exam grades, whilst having mixed abilities students in schools is a better option for every learners and society as a whole.