Some people suggest that using a cleaner energy to protect the environment is better, but some people say the traditional energy sources such as coal and oil is less expensive, what is your suggestion?

Atomic machinery was one of the hottest inventions during the 20th century. However, there have been heated debates about whether this technology should be used at all because there are some beliefs that nuclear function put life on Earth in danger. I personally agree with the idea that nuclear power is a serious threat to the world because of those following reasons. First of all, although nuclear power stations do not produce emission gas and more than ten million times more efficient than burning coal as a source of energy, many people still believe that they will cause serious danger to the surrounding neighbourhood. Despite the fact that the government had carried out some policies to mange their nuclear power plants, some unexpected events had happened and cause many major accidents to the citizen. For instance, it is undeniable that Japan is well known for its advanced, effective and modern nuclear automation. But in the year 2011, a tsunami had struck one of Fukushima’s power plants, and as a consequence, at least 160 people have tested positive for radiation exposure near Fukushima and nearly 10 people have passed away. Similar to Japan, the explosion that occurred in Chernobyl plant in Ukraine in 1986 had caused countless birth defects and unleash a thyroid cancer epidemic in the region. Nuclear power not only endangers human, but also threatens the lives of marine life. Because the facilities in factory use water to cool the reactors, most nuclear power plants are located along lakes, rivers or seacoasts. Cooling water discharged from a plant can affect the ambient habitat conditions for aquatic species. For example, water that is too hot or too cold can harm or kill aquatic species, affect their health or impact their habitats. Fish may not swim in rivers with altered temperature that can compromise their spawning activities. Mining activities may result in impacts to streams and other habitats. Habitat may be lost, disturbed or fragmented. In conclusion, although the nuclear technology could be used as a clean and cheap source of energy, I strongly disagree with it.