Some people suggest that implementing a scheme that gives a smartphone with access to the internet to everyone who isn't currently working may serve as a good idea to spend public money. Although this scheme may provide some benefit, I still disagree with this statement, as it is an inappropriate way to spend government funds.

As one of the controversial social issues, the matter regarding unemployment has attracted attention from many experts. Some people suggest that implementing a scheme that gives a smartphone with access to the internet to everyone who isn't currently working may serve as a good idea to spend public money. Although this scheme may provide some benefit, I still disagree with this statement, as it is an inappropriate way to spend government funds. Firstly, the mobile phone and internet can possibly help people find their place at the company more conveniently. Economically speaking, there is a technical term for this issue called ‘frictional unemployment’, it is one of the components of unemployment. This problem is caused by the job search not being instantaneous. However, with the internet people can use it to search for the available spot at the company and could instantly apply for it thus reducing the frictional unemployment. As a consequence, the unemployment problem could potentially be alleviated. Nonetheless, spending the public money on one’s private property may not be an appropriate approach. One of the primary sources for that money is taxes, and taxes are paid by every citizen not any specific organizations. That is the reason why those funds should not be spent to benefit some particular group of people, in this case the unoccupy workers. There can be no doubt that there are civilians who aren’t getting any advantages in this circumstance. To illustrate this, the people in the rural areas aren’t getting anything for their hardship that they had to endure while they overworked themself just to pay the tax. Ironically they cannot be given the phone because they are occupied, which contradicts one of the criteria of this phone-giving scheme. In conclusion, giving unemployed people a phone and the internet can have some beneficial effect to the whole problem. However, I am still not convinced that this is the suitable way to spend public funds, as it only benefits some particular group of people`.