After completing High School and Before Going to College or university, some students take a year off either to work or travel. What do you think is better – travelling or working? Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of both approaches.

Nowadays, it has been a common option for graduating high school students to have a gap year before pursuing a higher education. The two most common ways people often spend this time period is to travel or work. While both approaches allow teenagers to explore the adult world outside of their childhood bubble, the option allows vastly different pros and cons. In this essay, I will be exploring the strengths and weaknesses to both choices, and explain why I personally believe that working is the more effective way to spend your gap year. Travelling during your gap year not only allow you to enjoy a relaxing break away from your studies but allow you to make new connections with people outside of your area. No matter where you travel, you can gain many real life skills as well experience the people and culture first hand. Moreover, it allows you to meet new peers, creating connections that may benefit your life after college and university. In addition to the social network, this route allows students to fully relax their mind and better prepared for the education that lies ahead of them. In today's world, many students prepare their life by studying the theory without being proactive, leading to issues such as stress and even depression. By taking a year off to travel, the student would be able to avoid those problems while still learning, albeit in a slightly different way. An alternative way of spending your gap year would be to immerse in the workplace and gain work experiences. While this method is a lot less enjoyable compare to travel, it allows the person to be ahead of their peers in terms of employment and work experiences. Internships can offer an alternative learning experience, both within your desired field of study and regarding real life workplace. Although it is more likely for students in gap year to get minimum wage job, one that many considered to be 'low-skilled', one can still reap many benefits such as a better understanding on workplace management and the environment as well as soft skills such as communication and organization. Furthermore, joining the workforce early allows people the opportunity to expand their networking, creating connections which can lead to a better career in the future. For example, by establishing a relationship with a senior in the workplace, they may offer you a desired job in the future. Travelling and working during your gap year before continuing your educations allows one to fully explore the world and reap numerous opportunities. However, it is within my views that spending your year off working is a much more pragmatic and beneficial option compare to travelling