Museums are for education

Individuals often present differing views on whether museums should be a venue for entertainment or education. While there are certain benefits to partaking in museum exhibits and activities as pure entertainment, museums are at their core, education facilities that seek to educate using more playful, interactive methods. On one hand, museums at first glance are often primary, urban attractions that seek to enrich the cultural landscape of the city. They display items that are of historical or cultural significance to the region. For example, history museums underline the historical roots that allow for better understanding of present societal frameworks. Arts museums highlight local artists and shows that are monumental or influential to the local art scene. As many visitors feel bored by mechanically framed lectures and walls of information, museums focus on making the process interactive, ascetically pleasing, often immersing the visitor in a broad, rather than in depth journey of exploration. On the other hand, museums are fundamental parts of the local education system. This includes traditional K-12 programs that schools frequently integrate as part of their classroom teaching. Other part-time programs seek to educate those that are so inclined. The ultimate aim of any museum is to teach visitors something that they did not previously know. It is for this reason that museums hire professional guides to talk to visitors, while others provide headphones so visitors can hear detailed explanations of the exhibition. In this way, museums provide venues for educators to deliver knowledge. In conclusion, we cannot deny that museums must be enjoyable at first glance as to entice the general population. However, museums are primarily a source of education, woven into the fabric of the traditional school system and as part of societal enrichment for individuals to further their knowledge and deepen their understanding of the world around them.