some people suggest higher education should be funded by the government, while others think students should pay the course fees themselves.

Nowadays, many hold the view that government has the duty of funding higher education. However, there is a body of opinion which claims that students should pay their course fees by themselves. In this essay I will discuss both sides of the debate to seek a conclusion. To begin with, it is undeniable that free higher education can make universities more accessible to students, since it can allow those good students from poor families to receive further education. In addition, free education can boost national employment. To be specific, college education is to help students gain employment skills, such as professional knowledge and social skills When more students study at college, there will be more qualified graduates who will find jobs easily in the future. On the other hand, however, paying the tuition fees by the students can reduce the economic stress on the government, which can invest more funds in other important aspects, such as medical care and environment protection. Moreover, students can enjoy better education service, for schools may have more money when students pay for their courses. This increased revenue can be used to improve education quality, including hiring excellent teachers and purchasing state-of-the-art facilities. To sum up, there is no doubt that governments paying the fees allows more students to have access to universities and boost country's employment. At the same time, however, students paying the fee reduces government's economic burden and have opportunities to enjoy better education service. In the final analysis, therefore, one can safely conclude that students should pay course fees by themselves.