Some people say young people playing electronic and computer games learn useful skills but some people say young people are wasting their time. Discuss and give opinion.

People have different views on the youth’s indulgement in computer games. Some hold the belief that younger generations will be able to embrace helpful skills in the process of playing games. Others argue that these forms of entertainment only act as a time waster. From my perspective, both ideas are convincing in certain aspects and in the following paragraphs, I will display deeper insights into the problem. On the one hand, it is undeniable that children can adopt some essential skills. Playing computer games boost their problem-solving ability. Popular games in this day and age comprise different levels, ranging from the easiest to the most challenging ones. With a view to jumping to a higher level, children are undoubtedly required to show upgraded capacity to solve the problem. For example, when doing sudoku at difficult level, there will be more absent gaps than the easy mode, which means children have to apply more thinking to the game so as to precisely fill in the missing space. It can be said that during the time playing, young people incessantly come up with new strategies and methods to master the game, which also helps stimulate the operation of brain and develop problem-solving skills. On the other hand, there are persuasive reasonings why many people regard playing games as a waste of time. Besides mind-training games, there are a whole host of games that purely act as a way of entertaining and show no point in benefiting players, not to mention their addictive ability. It has been reported that there is an increase in the number of children locking themselves in their room and spending all day on electronic games rather than participating in outdoor activities. Indeed, we can obiously see that many detrimental games today lure children into a monotonous lifestyle and drive them from spending time clearly. That is to say the invaluable time bestowed is largely misused rather than cleverly spent on activities benificial for the development of mental health. In conslusion, although some games are designed to stimulate the development of necessary skills for children, many of which still exist with no useful purpose and eat into the precious time in a young’s day. Therefore, I believe that the engagement in this form of entertainment should be limited so as to provide players with the desired results.