some people say the main purpose of prison is punishment while others argue that rehabilitation is it primary role

In every country, prisons act as a type of facility where people are kept and isolated from the outside world. Different minds have contrasting opinions on the role of prisons. While a number of people assume that prisons’ utilization is to punish the sinners, the opposite site argues that rehabilitation is their prioritized purpose. By investigating the similarities and differences between the two ideas, one can identify which responsibilities do prisons take. . On the one hand, prisons conduct either punishment or rehabilitation activities in order to deter criminals from reoffending their crimes. By being kept inside the bars, these inmates have no chance of initiating any illegal actions. In other words, whether they consciously or subconsciously commit the crimes, they are banned from doing so temporarily or more seriously, permanently. On the other hand, between retribution and rehabilitation lay striking distinctions. When mentioning “punishment”, people usually relate to unpleasant images, and that is what the so-called punishment exists for. First of all, fears are invoked within offenders who are sentenced to prisons since living day after day behind the bars is certainly not comfortable. For instance, they are asked to follow the strict regulations and bear pressure, therefore, these sinners may become accustomed to obeying the rules and living under severe control. Besides, prisons’ penalty also has their offenders take responsibility for what they have done by making them experience hazardous prison conditions, which will result in their trauma and physical or mental impairments. On the contrary, prisons also has their function as rehabilitating the criminals. In countries all around the world, most policies are humane, which allow the prisoners to get back to the mass. Inside the prison, offenders are cared for and properly supervised as almost all of their spiritual and material demands are met, which means they have time to develop inner peace and goodwill. Moreover, these criminals also receive opportunities to contribute to the community - or differently said - to prepare to rehabilitate. For example, they learn necessary skills and knowledge; they work and produce goods then sell them to earn money - which can be donated to charity foundations. Long story short, not only do prisons penalize those who initiated illegal actions but also give them the second chance to relive their life. Their function depends on the criminal’s crime intensity and their attitudes towards what they have done.