comparison and contrast between bus and rail system

Transportation is one of the essential parts in the development of a country. Therefore, building and improving public transportation systems, such as rail and bus systems, are of great importance. However, besides the similarity in ticket prices, rail and bus systems also have differences in expense and travel time. First and foremost, the similarity of bus and rail systems is the ticket fares. They both have affordable prices that almost everyone can access to. For example, in Vietnam, a bus ticket fare is about 0. 3 USD per one, but the distance between bus stops is quite short. Compared to rail, a rail ticket fare is about 2 USD per one, this price seems to be more expensive than the bus ticket, however, it is still affordable and suitable for travelling long distances. On the other hand, there are some differences between these two types of transport systems. The first one is the operating expense of bus and rail systems. It is clear that rail costs more to operate than bus rapid transit. Because there is the cost of maintaining the track right of way and associated switches and signaling; moreover, there is the cost of maintaining the rail stations and associated parking lots. This includes the cost of employing ticket collectors, security personnel and maintenance workers. Finally, in certain cases, the cost of electricity to operate the trains may be greater than the cost of fuel for buses. Overall, it is more expensive to operate one rail than one bus, because cost-effective use of rail requires a large passenger demand. The second one is the travel time. The rail tends to be faster and time-saving than the bus. One of the reasons is that the distance between rail station and bus stops are different; the rail stations distance tend to be longer, about 1000 km, while bus stops distance ranging about from 1 to 1. 6 km. For example, Metrobüs in Istanbul produced travel time savings of 65 percent compared to previous commutes, the Bus-VAO lane in Madrid led to 33 percent savings and the South Miami-Dade Busway just 10 percent. Moreover, as the result of gaining ridership of trains, the railway system is more time-saving than the bus system. In conclusion, the rail and bus systems have not only similarity in ticket fares, but also differences in operating expenses and travel time. Nevertheless, rail and bus systems will change a lot in the future because of advanced technology and applying alternative energy.