Some people say the amount of time watching TV affects children’s behavior the most while others say that what they watch matters more.

Supervising children on watching TV has always been a controversial issue. Some people argue that the amount on time is what affects behavior the most of children while other people argue that the contents are what affects children the most. First of all, it is true that the amount of time can impact on children’s behavior. Watching television for too long can negatively affect children. This can lead children to develop a bad habit of leaving TV on all the time when they are eating or doing homework. This can hinder children from concentrating other factors that are important in their life. This, the amount spent on watching television should be strictly monitored by their caregivers. Nevertheless, I believe it is the contents of the television that affects the children the most. It is because children often cannot tell the difference between the reality and the fantasy shown on television. The news about a kid jumping off a building or a tree thinking he has a supernatural ability to fly proves this. Also, many researches have proven that children who watched violent contents developed more violent disposition and personality than children who did not watch them. Therefore, caregiver’s supervision about what children watch is very important. In conclusion, I believe that what children view influences the behavior of children more than how long children watch TV. However, the time spent on watching TV also has impact on their behavior so both aspects needed to be supervised by their parents.