Some people say that when deciding how taxes should be spent, government should priorities healthcare. Other people say that there are more important priorities for taxpayer’s.

The healthcare sector is often one of the first to be considered by government when allocating tax revenue. However, there are more essential areas which also deserve due consideration and resources. I feel that, while access to quality healthcare is certainly a vital component of any successful society, other sectors certainly cannot be ignored. Perhaps the most compelling reason why healthcare should be priorities is because of the detrimental effect that a dysfunctional healthcare system can have on the economy. A robust and healthcare workforce is a cornerstone of any economy. And this workforce is consistently ill, then productivity will slow, jobs will be lost, and the economy will shrink. This would lead to lower tax revenue, would in turn mean less funding for healthcare, and a vicious cycle would begin. However, the healthcare system should not be viewed in isolation. Another particularly essential part of society is the education sector. The most obvious benefit of education is that leads to a more skilled workforce. Which in turn leads to a stronger economy and higher tax revenues. But there is another, deeper, benefit to education, which is that liberates the minds of the populace, and leads to greater individual self-respect and a more peaceful society. The importance of education cannot be understanding. Education is not the only are which demands government attention. The environmental crisis is becoming an increasingly urgent problem: sea levels are rising; food production is threatened; sever weather is causing unprecedented damage; and the habitats of our precious flora and fauna are disappearing. Unless tax money is put aside to reverse the dire state of affairs, future generations will face an uncertain existence. My opinion is that a country is made up of money interdependent parts, and allowing any one of those part to fail will cause a collapse of the entire system. The problems faced by other areas such as education and the environment, among others, are too pressing and potentially catastrophic to be ignored. I therefore feel that health care should not receive any special priorities