Some people say that use of mobile phones should be banned in public places or crowded areas, while other disagree. Give your own opinion and relevant examples

Telecommunication technology has played a vital role in information sharing and bringing people closer. Its usage has become a basic necessity of life and one cannot image to live without mobile phones. Prohibition of cell phones in public places is laudable, but I don't agree fully and believe that their usage should be allowed in public places but with some restrictions. On the one hand, using mobile phones in public places can distract other people and divert their attentions. For instance, libraries where people reading material of interest can be easily distracted through ringtones of incoming calls or people talking over the phone loudly with their loved ones. Mobile phone usage in public places like hospitals can easily interfere with the medical equipment which can be harmful to the patient. Moreover, talking over the cell phone can increase the sufferings of the patients waiting in the room to see the doctor. Mobile phones can easily slip from the hand when someone bumps in departmental stores it will not only damage the devices but it can block the entire lane at the billing counter. Often the environment at shopping malls, stores and other public avenue is very noisy and talking over cell phones will add extra decibel. Moreover, its usage in Music galleries or prayers room can result in discomfort for others and spoil their entertainment or offerings. On the other hand, restricting usage of mobile phones in public places can keep people away to stay in touch with their loved one in case of emergency and so on. Mobile phones nowadays come up with cameras and other services like Email, Entertainment and so on. This would keep them away from capturing the pictures of events in music galleries or taking selfies in public buses and sharing with their friends on the go. Moreover, people love to listen to music during travelling will have little to enjoy. Cell phones can easily be switched to silent/vibrate mode, this will not distract people due to loud ringtones of incoming calls or messages. To conclude, the above points provide plausible arguments in favour of both views. However, I personally believe that cell phones should be allowed in public places but with some restrictions in place so that they can remain in touch with their friends and family members whenever they need.