Some people say that tourism has many negative effects on the countries that people travel to. How true is this statement? What can tourists do to reduce the harmful effects of tourism on local cultures and environments?

Nowadays, many countries are known for developed tourism. That brings a lot of benefits to them. However, there are some opinions that damage the local cultures and environments in the countries that people travel to. I firmly believe it is totally true and I will give some solutions to reduce the harmful effects. The growth of tourists can also affect the environment. In order to serve more and more travellers, the tourism industry has to build many hotels, restaurants that lead to reduced natural areas and deforestation. For example, instead of enjoying the natural views or attractive sightseeing in Da Nang to Hoi An in Vietnam with white sand and blue sea, it is covered by many resorts and luxury hotels. Beside that, it is also important to realize that tourism has harmed the local cultures. Because the number of travellers has increased, especially the foreigner, which contributes to raise domestic prices higher. In addition, the people living around also do that as well for higher income. They are influenced by overseas cultures, ignore their own traditions, which might lead to problems for preserving the traditional cultures. Such negative impacts can be reduced or avoided by several effective ways. Instead of just travelling to well-known places many times or just in resorts the whole day, tourists can join in some new adventures such as sailing, canoeing or focus on preserving the environment and enjoy new experiences. In addition, observing the rules and respecting local cultures are two main points which tourists should also remember. In conclusion, I believe that tourism also has negative effects on the local cultures and environments. In my opinion, although tourism will help the countries developly, we have to preserve and respect the local cultures and protect the natural environments.