Some people say that the Olympic Games no longer play a role in the 21st century. kngn

It is argues that Olympic games does not have a purpose anymore in today's world. This essay disagrees with this statement since Olympic games is a way to give the youths a sense of purpose and helps in promoting patriotism. Olympic games plays a huge role in keeping young people interested in sports, a healthy alternative compared to more idle ones such as television. In this century, the young people have access to lots of activities which might not only be unhealthy but also illegal. Olympic games serves to keep the youths of today engaged in sports instead of falling into alcohol, cigarettes and drugs. According to a recent survey performed with 600 college students from different schools, 75% of the students demonstrated interest in Olympic games and were interested in performing a sport after watching Olympic games. Furthermore, people showed more patriotic feelings during Olympic games. An increase in patriotism might prove to be beneficial to both the economy and law and order of a nation. People felt a sense of belonging which affected their behaviour as a whole. For instance, people might start buying more local products reducing imports in the country and loss of foreign currency. The crime rate might also decrease with people thinking twice before hurting the fellow countryman. An academic study recently performed showed that there was an increase in patriotic activities and voluntary actions during and following an Olympic game. To conclude, Olympic games are still relevant in this century. they not only give the youth of today an encouragement to perform sports but can also lead a nation to be more patriotic and the citizens more helpful towards each other.