Some people say that the purpose of learning a new language is to get a job or for their studies. others believe that these should not be the only reasons for learning a foreign language.

Conventionally, people had argued about the benefits of being monolingual. Recent evidence, however, considerably favours bi or multilinguals. Some argue that understanding a language is imperative for only working/ studying abroad, others believe that these should not be the only guiding principle. I will discuss both of these views in the essay. The conflict reasoning and co-adaptation of bilinguals have been studied in deep to understand how the brains of bilinguals vary as compared with monolinguals. The recent study by Clark et al using sophisticated techniques of Functional MRI (f MRI) and PET-CT is one such milestone. The study shows that bilinguals have more activity in certain conflicting areas of brain from an early age which helps them to adapt flexibly. The Stroop test, wherein, the participants were shown words in different colours, for instance, red written with yellow colour and vice-versa showed an overall better performance score for bilinguals than monolinguals. The out-reaching benefits of knowing multiple languages doesn’t stop here, people with Alzheimer’s dementia with flexible linguistic ability presented with symptoms of decline much later. Keeping these advantages in mind, one can understand the underpinnings of learning different languages. One can learn them as a hobby or to diversify their understanding of different cultures. Certain professions also necessitate the understanding of multiple languages. One needs to be well-versed with the native language of the foreign country he is applying for, both as a student or professional. Translators need to know several languages to increase their out-reach for example. Doctors need to understand different languages and ethnic variations thereof to better communicate with their patients. Overall, I believe learning languages should not be restricted only to seek future opportunities. One can connect with natives of different culture, race and ethnicity if they take time to understand some of the widely spoken languages in their territory. It can be safely assumed that whatever may be the reason, with the increase in multilinguals in the global village, the future will be multilingual.