Some say that learning history is important. Others say learning science is more important.

“Every generation contributes something meaningful to the existing pool of wisdom. Trust me, they can outsmart you much easily than you assume, ” Ernest Hemingway ended his speech on these words while speaking to the outgoing graduate batch of 1952. Every successive generation have a different perspective towards life. Some parents believe they know “what is best for their child”, others adopt a more democratic approach providing their children the autonomy to make their own important decisions in life. I believe the latter approach is much more appreciable than the autocratic approach, both of which I will discuss in the essay. In our everyday lives, we all have come across nagging children and angry parents. Most often than not, we critically assume that it’s “generation gap” that is at play. However, the truth is that the style of parenting we adopt reflects on our child throughout their lives. As parents, we always believe that our child is a naïve baby who never quite understands the truth of this world. Thus, we are bound to be their shining knight in armour. According to Emil Kraeplin, one of the leaders in the field of neuropsychiatry, this dominating parenthood, though helps children to feel safe and protected can have dangerous repercussions. Over-protective parents’ distance themselves from the emotions and thoughts of their children. Submissive children tend to hide their flaws, mistakes, and take comfort in their peer group. They are always in a crippling fear and might even lead a dual life. These conflicts and poor-decision making in adulthood is just one such example of how a dominating parenthood can affect children. On the flipside, we have the parents who technically allow their children to have a full authority on their own lives. These children have full freedom on their choices and supportive parents to always rely on. It might seem that this is an ideal parenting style, however, more often than not this style also jeopardizes the future of children. With excessive freedom and no-one to counsel, children can grow up to be completely reckless and uncivilized. They can turn out to be self-centric ego maniacs as proved by Sir Hillary’s prospective study on 1000 school children. To conclude, I believe the best parenting style psychologically as well as practically is a careful balance of both wherein the child is allowed to make choices and stand by it, but the parents also ensure that one is aware of the consequences. Parents need to be their child’s guide, holding their hands till the crossroad but not pushing them on the road they believe will be best for their child. That decision should rest with the child always.