Some people say that the only reason for learning a foreign language is to travel or work in a foreign country. Others say that these are not the only reasons why someone should learn a foreign language.

Few individuals believe that one should learn a foreign language only if they want to work or travel abroad. Some think, and I agree, that these are not the only reasons to be considered if we desire to learn a foreign language. This essay will discuss both sides of this argument and give an opinion in the end. Indeed, learning a foreign language for a job or traveling is vital. When someone travels to another country, knowing the native language will make communication with the local people easy. It will avoid the possibility of getting lost. It will improve the travel experience as it would be easy to talk to local people about their culture and heritage. Many multinational companies ask the interviewers about the number of languages they know or whether they can speak the country's first language to which they are applying. In such cases, learning a foreign language becomes essential. On the contrary, students wanting to study in a foreign university should also know the language of instruction used. Many academic programs make learning a particular language compulsory. For example, there are examinations such as IELTS and TOFEL. These are the exams a student must clear if he wants to study in Canada, the USA, or Australia. Students tend to appreciate a country's culture and diversity after knowing their language and people. In conclusion, I believe that learning should not be restricted to when there is a need. People should keep on updating themselves, and learning a foreign language is one such way. Learning a foreign language well in time will prepare them for the future.