Some people say that the only reason for learning a foreign language is in order to travel to or work in a foreign country. Others say that these are not the only reasons why someone should learn a foreign language.

Learning a foreign language is becoming increasingly common in the world today. While certain people think that learning a foreign language is solely useful for those travelling or going to work in a foreign country some disagree, stating that there are other reasons. In this essay we shall discuss both sides before giving reasons as to why I think there can be other reasons than travel or work to learn a foreign language. Due to the fact, that learning a foreign language can be time consuming as well as expensive, I understand why quite a few people would view it as a waste of time if there was no specific purpose for learning it. Unless you have someone willing to teach you the language for free, you may have to pay for a professional teacher or attend a University course which may be expensive and depending on the language quite time consuming. Considering these reasons, it is understandable why a number of people would view this as waste of resources. However certain people also view learning languages as a way to experience new cultures, and possibly even connect with theirs. Since there are quite a few people whose parents chose to move while they were too young to learn their language, as such they may be unable to speak the language of their close relatives. Without wanting to visit or work they would most likely want to be able to communicate or understand the language of their ancestors. In my personal opinion however studying new languages does not need to be for a specific purpose, there are a multitude of reasons to learn a new foreign language. Quite often people are simply inquisitive and would be interested just to experience learning a new language, despite there being no exact purpose, since this brings them joy there is no reason not to continue. However, you look at it learning new things is not a waste as long as the process itself is enjoyable. Despite a number of people thinking differently I firmly believe that learning a foreign language should not only be for work or travelling, as there can be any multitude of reasons.