Some believe that it is the responsibility of individuals to keep themselves fit and bear their healthcare expenses, while others believe that it the government that should bear the expense of essential healthcare. Argue both the views and provide reasons with examples.

As populations soar and disease rates follow, health has become a concern for many countries. On the one hand, there is the belief that it is up to individuals to keep themselves in good shape, while a contrary view holds that this is the government's role. This essay will consider both of these perspectives. These days, many would argue that how well we are is largely, if not entirely, dependent on the actions and decisions we take personally. Undeniably, many of us live in societies where the individual does have a considerable degree of control over what happens to them. In Australia, for instance, citizens have access to a vast array of products and services, including gym memberships, nutritionists, and fitness groups, all of which encourage good health and well-being. Although illness in some cases is unavoidable, in such fortunate nations, citizens can and should manage their health to some extent. This concept of personal responsibility is often countered by those who understand that many people do not have the education or financial capacity to look after their health. For those who are just managing to put food on the table and a roof over their heads, health services provided to them by the government is an essential aspect. These could include free medical checkups and hospital treatment, access to affordable medication and advice on a wide range of health-related issues, to name but a few. Without such a safety net underpinning public health, even citizens in wealthy nations would struggle. In conclusion, without an easy-to-access and inexpensive healthcare system funded by the government, many individuals would fail to look after their health properly. At the same time, each person needs to prioritize their well-being, which they can do by accessing the wide choice of products and services.